Finding the right balance between product diversity and production flexibility is one of the biggest challenges facing OEMs and suppliers.

Sophisticated product platforms provide the foundation to help improve the bottom line – in terms of both revenue and cost.

In order to expand market share and maintain its price point, the product must remain attractive throughout its lifecycle and the portfolio must be continuously adapted to market requirements. At the same time, limited resources require the product variety desired by the market to be presented as ideally as possible in terms of investment and costs. A platform management system tailored to the specific goals of the company brings into line the opposing requirements – market vs. resources – in the best possible way.

In addition to platform management, EFS Consulting contributes decades of experience in modularization knowledge as well as process and organizational understanding in all phases of product development and the product lifecycle.

Consultant with notebook

Our approach to modularization

Our approach to modularization allows us to increase product and configuration diversity while reducing resource requirements, tooling costs, and material costs.

With the help of an ingenious configuration variance, we offer our customers a highly individualized product that has a positive effect on quantity and result on the one hand, and often significantly reduces costs on the other. In addition, the modular approach makes independent technical solutions possible – and applicable in numerous industries.

Having years of experience in this field allows us to constantly enhance our own methods, which is something our customers benefit from.

Our expertise is the overall product-creation process.
We do not see platform management as a selective intervention but accompany our customers from the early phase of product definition through product development to platform lifecycle management. We contribute our expertise to product planning, marketing, mechanical engineering, electronics, IT, and business administration.

We feel at home on every level of the product development process – whether strategy, organization, process, methods or tools. This enables us to develop a comprehensive product strategy for the future.

‘It’s not our business’ is not our business.

We ensure strategic vision.
We forge links from upper management to operational level. We also include suppliers in the modular strategy in order to consider everyone involved right from the start. In this way, we ensure that processes are individually tailored to the customer and designed effectively. By taking this holistic approach, we are just as successful with OEMs and suppliers as we are with newly established start-ups.

We deliver results.
For more than 20 years, we have been successfully working for the largest OEMs and suppliers in the world. We are experts in the development of modular product and production platforms, and their consistent alignment to market requirements.

Our experience:

For our customers, we realized savings potentials of several hundred million euros through an optimized product variance when awarding contracts to suppliers.


We distinguish ourselves through interdisciplinary work.
Our “Collaboration Excellence” clearly distinguishes us from other consultants. Over more than 20 years, EFS Consulting has built up extensive expertise in interdisciplinary projects. Our customers appreciate this – in 2018, we were awarded the “Certificate Excellence of Platform Management”.

In the area of “Modular Product and Production”, EFS Consulting operates a platform management system that is unique and versatile in this field. Highly standardized, it makes the development of a wide variety of platforms possible. Some are completely new, some are derived from an existing system or become an evolving platform – which is currently a main issue, especially in the field of electrification.

Wir verwenden den Remarketing-Pixel von Facebook um unseren Besuchern zielgerichtete Informationen in unserem Onlineangebot zu bieten. Sie können der Verwendung für Facebook Remarketing zustimmen bzw. diese ablehnen. Wenn Sie nicht zustimmen, werden keine Daten über den Facebook Pixel erfasst. Mehr erfahren Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung

Die richtige Balance zwischen Produktvielfalt und Produktionsflexibilität zu finden ist eine der größten Herausforderungen, denen OEMs und Zulieferer gegenüberstehen.

Durchdachte Produktplattformen bilden die Grundlage, um zu einer Verbesserung des Unternehmensergebnisses beizutragen - sowohl ertrags- als auch kostenseitig.

Um Marktanteile auszubauen und die Preisposition zu halten, muss das Produkt über den Lebenszyklus attraktiv bleiben und das Portfolio kontinuierlich den Marktanforderungen angepasst werden. Gleichzeitig erfordern begrenzte Ressourcen, die vom Markt gewünschte Produktvielfalt möglichst investitions- und kostenoptimal darzustellen. Durch ein, auf die spezifischen Unternehmensziele maßgeschneidertes Plattform-Management, werden die gegenläufigen Anforderungen – Markt vs. Ressourcen – bestmöglich in Einklang gebracht.

Zusätzlich zu Plattform-Management steuert EFS Consulting jahrzehntelange Erfahrung im Modularisierungswissen sowie Prozess- und Organisationsverständnis in allen Phasen der Produktentwicklung und des -lebenszyklus bei.

Unser Modularisierungs­ansatz

Unser Modularisierungs­ansatz

Durch unseren Modularisierungsansatz können wir die Produkt- und Konfigurationsvielfalt steigern, während Mittelbedarf, Werkzeugkosten und Materialkosten gesenkt werden.

Mit Hilfe einer ausgeklügelten Konfigurationsvarianz bieten wir unseren Kunden ein stark individualisiertes Produkt, das sich einerseits positiv auf Menge und Ergebnis auswirkt, andererseits die Kosten oft deutlich reduziert. Zusätzlich sind durch den modularen Ansatz voneinander unabhängige technische Lösungen möglich - anwendbar in zahlreichen Branchen.

Unsere jahrelange Erfahrung in diesem Bereich ermöglicht uns, die eigenen Methoden stets weiterzuentwickeln. Davon profitieren unsere Kunden.

Wir sind im gesamten Produktentstehungsprozess zu Hause.
Wir verstehen Plattform-Management nicht als punktuellen Eingriff, sondern begleiten unsere Kunden von der frühen Phase der Produktdefinition über die Produktentwicklung bis hin zum Plattform-Lifecycle-Management. Dabei bringen wir unsere Expertise in Produktplanung, Marketing, Maschinenbau, Elektronik, IT und Betriebswirtschaft ein.

Wir fühlen uns auf jeder Ebene im Produktentstehungsprozess zu Hause – sei es Strategie, Organisation, Prozess, Methoden oder Werkzeuge. Dadurch sind wir in der Lage, eine umfassende Produktstrategie für die Zukunft zu entwickeln.

‚It’s not our business’ is not our business.

Wir stellen strategischen Weitblick sicher.
Wir sorgen für eine sehr hohe Durchdringungstiefe – vom Top Management bis zur operativen Ebene. Darüber hinaus beziehen wir Lieferanten in die modulare Strategie mit ein, um von Anfang an alle involvierten Personen zu berücksichtigen. Damit stellen wir sicher, dass Prozesse individuell auf den Kunden abgestimmt und effektiv gestaltet werden. Mit diesem ganzheitlichen Zugang sind wir bei OEMs und Zulieferern ebenso erfolgreich wie bei neu gegründeten Start-Ups.

Wir liefern Ergebnisse.
Seit mehr als 20 Jahren sind wir erfolgreich für die größten OEMs und Zulieferer der Welt tätig. Wir sind Experten in der Entwicklung modularer Produkt- und Produktionsplattformen und deren konsequenter Ausrichtung auf die Marktanforderungen.

Unsere Erfahrung:

Für unsere Kunden haben wir durch eine optimierte Produktvarianz bereits Einsparpotentiale in Höhe von mehreren hundert Millionen Euro bei Lieferantenvergaben realisiert.


Wir zeichnen uns durch interdisziplinäres Arbeiten aus.
Unsere „Collaboration Excellence“ unterscheidet uns deutlich von anderen Beratern. EFS Consulting hat in mehr als 20 Jahren weitreichende Kompetenz hinsichtlich interdisziplinärer Projekte aufgebaut. Das schätzen unsere Kunden – im Jahr 2018 wurden wir mit dem „Certificate Excellence of Platform Management“ ausgezeichnet.

Im Bereich „Modular Product and Production“ betreibt EFS Consulting ein Plattform-Management, das in diesem Feld einzigartig und vielseitig ist. Hoch standardisiert macht es die unterschiedlichsten Entwicklungen von Plattformen möglich. Einige entstehen völlig neu, manche leiten sich aus einem bestehenden System ab oder werden zu einer evolvierenden Plattform – was gerade im Bereich Elektrifizierung ein aktuelles Thema ist.