Product Compliance & Automotive Regulatory

We identify and keep track of worldwide regulatory changes with the focus on areas such as:

product compliance, product safety, vehicle type approval and homologation, import restrictions, international trade law, radio certification, material compliance, chemistry, environmental regulations, electric vehicles, cybersecurity and autonomous driving.

Below you will find an excerpt of the world News on regulations from these areas.
Please contact us for a comprehensive overview of the topic or specific countries.

New Turkish regulation on tyre labelling

Turkey published a Draft Regulation on The Labelling of Tyres with Respect to Fuel Efficiency and Other Parameters (2020/740/EU).

The Regulation establishes a framework for the provision of harmonised information on tyre parameters through labelling to allow end-users to make an informed choice when purchasing tyres, for the purpose of increasing safety, the protection of health, and the economic and environmental efficiency of road transport, by promoting fuel-efficient, longlasting and safe tyres with low noise levels.

More

New EU regulation on intelligent speed assistance (ISA)

EU published a Draft Commission Delegated Regulation supplementing Regulation (EU) 2019/2144 regarding intelligent speed assistance (ISA) systems

The Delegated Regulation lays down detailed rules concerning the specific test procedures and technical requirements for the type-approval of motor vehicles with regard to the intelligent speed assistance systems and for the type-approval of those systems as separate technical units.

More

Japan to require the installation of OBFCM in vehicles

Japan has announced recently that it will require the installation of OBFCM (On-board Fuel and/or Energy Consumption Monitoring Device) in vehicles.

According to the Outline of draft legislation for OBFCM, vehicles in Japan shall record/provide lifetime and instantaneous value of fuel consumption and state of health of battery (following the EU Regulation (EU)2017/1151).  For electric and hybrid vehicles, electric consumption will have to be monitored.

More

New SASO standards for trucks

Saudi Arabia published for comments three new SASO standards for trucks

The Saudi Standards, Metrology and Quality Organization (SASO) published for comments three new SASO standards for trucks regarding their protective devices.

More

Electric Vehicles Charging Regulations to be published

UK informed about its plans to publish Electric Vehicles (Smart Charge Points) Regulations 2021

The Regulations will be published under the Automated and Electric Vehicles (AEV) Act 2018.  The AEV Act gives the Government the powers through secondary legislation to mandate that all electric vehicle (EV) chargepoints sold or installed in the UK must have smart functionality and meet minimum requirements, in areas such as cyber and data security, grid stability and interoperability.

More

New GB standards for vehicles in China

China published for comments several new draft standards for road vehicles.

China recently published three new draft standards for road vehicles. They are open for comments until 1 May 2021.

More

Revision of the EU-Japan Free Trade Agreement

Annexes of the EU-Japan Free Trade Agreement were revised including those covering the recognition of UNECE regulations for vehicles and their parts

The EU-Japan Free Trade Agreement entered into force on 1 February 2019.  Its Appendix 2-C covers motor vehicles and their parts and lists those for which both parties recognize UNECE regulations.  Recently, some new UNECE regulations were added to the list.

More

Three important UN vehicle regulations enter into force

United Nations Secretary General notified that three landmark UN vehicle regulations entered into force on 22 January 2021

The regulations in question are UN Regulation No. 155 on Cyber Security and Cyber Security Management Systems, UN Regulation No. 156 on Software Updates and Software Updates Management Systems and UN Regulation No. 157 on the type approval of Automated Lane Keeping Systems (ALKS).

More

EU public consultation on lane-keeping systems

The European Commission’s public consultation on emergency lane-keeping systems (ELKS) will be open for comments till 11 February 2021

Under new EU vehicle safety rules, all new car and van models must be equipped with emergency lane-keeping systems (ELKS) from July 2022, and existing models from July 2024. The system helps drivers stay safely within their lane or the road boundary, to avoid accidents.  The consultation is aimed at setting out the requirements and tests for approving vehicles with these systems.

More

Proposal for a new EU Battery Regulation

EU proposed a draft Regulation concerning batteries and waste batteries, repealing the existing Battery Directive 2006/66/EC

The European Commission published a 130-pages long draft of a new Regulation on batteries which is supposed to repeal the Directive 2006/66/EC and amend Regulation (EU) No 2019/1020.  This regulatory initiative is an integral part of the EU’s Green Deal and its attempts at a clean energy transition.  It is aimed, among others, at making the Europe’s automotive sector curb its greenhouse-gas (GHG) emissions.

More

Supplements to General Safety Regulation for vehicles

The General Safety Regulation (EU) 2019/2144 on type-approval requirements for motor vehicles as regards their general safety may be supplemented.

The European Commission published two draft Commission Delegated Regulations supplementing Regulation (EU) 2019/2144 with regard to the driver drowsiness and attention warning systems and the alcohol interlock installation facilitation in motor vehicles.  The draft Regulations will amend the Annex II to Regulation (EU) 2018/858 on the approval and market surveillance of motor vehicles.

More

Minnesota to adopt California emission standards?

Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (MPCA) proposed a rule to adopt the Low-Emission Vehicles and Zero-Emission Vehicles standards from California. 

The proposed rule, known as Clean Cars Minnesota, would adopt two California emissions standards for GHGs and other air pollutants from light-duty and medium-duty vehicles.  The aim is to reduce greenhouse gas (GHG) and other air pollutant emissions.

More

Applicability of NHTSA FMVSS Test Procedures 

The American authority NHTSA recently clarified a controversy about the applicability of NHTSA FMVSS Test Procedures to manufacturers.

The NHTSA published a notice in which it explained that the FMVSS test procedures apply only to NHTSA’s compliance testing, and manufacturers are not required to ensure that their vehicles are designed in such a manner as to ensure that the vehicles are capable of being tested pursuant to such standards as a condition of self-certification.

More

NHTSA Requests Comments on Cybersecurity Best Practices

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration NHTSA is requesting comments on the draft on Cybersecurity Best Practices for the Safety of Modern Vehicles.

On January 8th, 2021, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration NHTSA submitted a draft on Cybersecurity Best Practices for the Safety of Modern Vehicles to the Federal Register for publication to consolidate current industry knowledge and insights.

More

New vehicle labeling requirements?

Ecuador published recently a Draft Instruction for the Implementation of Labeling for Vehicles

The purpose of the Instruction is to establish the requirements and procedures for the application of vehicle labeling, which provides information to consumers on aspects related to safety, emissions and energy efficiency, and enables them an informed purchase.

More

Wir verwenden den Remarketing-Pixel von Facebook um unseren Besuchern zielgerichtete Informationen in unserem Onlineangebot zu bieten. Sie können der Verwendung für Facebook Remarketing zustimmen bzw. diese ablehnen. Wenn Sie nicht zustimmen, werden keine Daten über den Facebook Pixel erfasst. Mehr erfahren Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung

Product Compliance & Automotive Regulatory

Wir identifizieren und verfolgen weltweit regulatorische Änderungen in den Schwerpunktbereichen:

Produkt Compliance, Produktsicherheit, Fahrzeug-Typgenehmigung, Importbeschränkungen, internationales Handelsrecht, Funkzertifizierungen, Material Compliance, Chemie, Umweltvorschriften, Elektrofahrzeuge, Cybersicherheit und Autonomes Fahren.

Nachfolgend finden Sie einen Auszug aus den weltweiten Meldungen über Regelungen aus diesen Bereichen. Kontaktieren Sie uns, um einen umfassenden Überblick zu den Themen oder spezifischen Ländern zu erhalten.

Neue türkische Regelung zur Kennzeichnung von Reifen

Die Türkei hat einen Entwurf für eine Verordnung über die Kennzeichnung von Reifen in Bezug auf die Kraftstoffeffizienz und andere Parameter (2020/740/EU) veröffentlicht.

Die Verordnung schafft durch die Kennzeichnung Rahmenbedingungen für die Bereitstellung harmonisierter Informationen über Reifenparameter, damit die Endnutzer beim Reifenkauf eine sachkundige Wahl treffen können, um die Sicherheit, den Gesundheitsschutz sowie die wirtschaftliche und ökologische Effizienz des Straßenverkehrs zu erhöhen, indem kraftstoffeffiziente, langlebige und sichere Reifen mit niedrigem Geräuschpegel beworben werden.

Mehr

Neue EU-Verordnung zu intelligenten Geschwindigkeitsassistenten (ISA)

Die EU hat einen Entwurf der delegierten Verordnung der Kommission zur Ergänzung der Verordnung (EU) 2019/2144 über intelligente Geschwindigkeitsassistenzsysteme (ISA) veröffentlicht

Die Verordnung enthält detaillierte Vorschriften über die spezifischen Prüfverfahren und technischen Anforderungen für die Typgenehmigung von Kraftfahrzeugen in Bezug auf intelligente Geschwindigkeitsassistenzsysteme und für die Typgenehmigung dieser Systeme als selbstständige technische Einheiten.

Mehr

Japan fordert den Einbau von OBFCM in Fahrzeugen

Japan hat kürzlich angekündigt, dass es den Einbau von OBFCM (On-board Fuel and/or Energy Consumption Monitoring Device) in Fahrzeugen vorschreiben wird.

Gemäß dem Entwurf der Gesetzgebung für OBFCM sollen Fahrzeuge in Japan die Lebensdauer und den Momentanwert des Kraftstoffverbrauchs sowie den Zustand der Batterie aufzeichnen/übermitteln (in Anlehnung an die EU-Verordnung (EU) 2017/1151).  Bei Elektro- und Hybridfahrzeugen wird der Stromverbrauch überwacht werden müssen.

Mehr

Neue SASO-Normen für LKW

Saudi-Arabien hat drei neue SASO-Standards für LKW zur Kommentierung veröffentlicht

Die Saudi Standards, Metrology and Quality Organization (SASO) hat drei neue SASO-Standards für Lkw bezüglich ihrer Schutzeinrichtungen zur Kommentierung veröffentlicht.

Mehr

Verordnung über Elektrofahrzeuge wird veröffentlicht

UK hat eine Verordnung zu Stromzapfsäulen für Elektrofahrzeuge (EV) angekündigt, unter dem Automated and electric vehicles (AEV) act 2018 erlassen wird.

Der AEV-Act gibt der Regierung die Befugnis, durch Sekundärrecht vorzuschreiben, dass alle in Großbritannien verkauften oder installierten Stromzapfsäulen für Elektrofahrzeuge (EV) über intelligente Funktionen verfügen und Mindestanforderungen in Bereichen wie Cyber- und Datensicherheit, Netzstabilität und Interoperabilität erfüllen müssen. Es gibt auch Pläne, die Regeln auf private Stromzapfsäulen auszudehnen, um sicherzustellen, dass diese grundlegenden Elemente eines intelligenten Systems bereits in einem frühen Stadium vorhanden sind.

Mehr

Neue GB-Standards für Fahrzeuge in China

China veröffentlichte mehrere neue Standardentwürfe für Straßenfahrzeuge zur Kommentierung.

China hat kürzlich drei neue Standardentwürfe für Straßenfahrzeuge veröffentlicht. Sie sind bis zum 1. Mai 2021 für Kommentare geöffnet.

Mehr

Überarbeitung des EU-Japan-Freihandelsabkommens

Anhänge des Freihandelsabkommens zwischen der EU und Japan wurden überarbeitet, einschließlich derjenigen, die die Anerkennung von UNECE-Regelungen für Fahrzeuge betreffen

Das Freihandelsabkommen zwischen der EU und Japan ist am 1. Februar 2019 in Kraft getreten.  Sein Anhang 2-C umfasst Kraftfahrzeuge und deren Teile und listet diejenigen auf, für die beide Parteien UNECE-Regelungen anerkennen.  Kürzlich wurden einige neue UNECE-Regelungen in die Liste aufgenommen.

Mehr

Drei wichtige UN-Fahrzeugregelungen treten in Kraft

Der Generalsekretär der Vereinten Nationen hat mitgeteilt, dass drei wichtige UN-Fahrzeugregelungen am 22. Januar 2021 in Kraft getreten sind

Es handelt sich um die UN-Regelung Nr. 155 über Cybersicherheit und Cybersicherheits-Managementsysteme, die UN-Regelung Nr. 156 über Software-Updates und Software-Update-Managementsysteme und die UN-Regelung Nr. 157 über die Typgenehmigung von automatischen Spurhaltesystemen (ALKS).

Mehr

Öffentliche Konsultation der EU zu Spurhaltesystemen

Die öffentliche Konsultation der Europäischen Kommission bezüglich Spurhaltesystemen (ELKS) läuft bis zum 11. Februar 2021

Nach den neuen EU-Vorschriften zur Fahrzeugsicherheit müssen alle neuen Pkw- und Transporter-Modelle ab Juli 2022 und bestehende Modelle ab Juli 2024 mit Spurhaltesystemen (ELKS) ausgestattet sein. Das System hilft dem Fahrer, sicher innerhalb seiner Fahrspur oder der Straßenbegrenzung zu bleiben, um Unfälle zu vermeiden.  Ziel der Konsultation ist es, die Anforderungen und Prüfungen für die Zulassung von Fahrzeugen mit diesen Systemen festzulegen.

Mehr

Vorschlag für eine neue EU-Batterieverordnung

Die EU hat einen Entwurf für eine Verordnung über Batterien und Altbatterien vorgelegt, der die bestehende Batterierichtlinie 2006/66/EG aufhebt

Die Europäische Kommission hat einen 130 Seiten langen Entwurf für eine neue Verordnung über Batterien veröffentlicht, der die Richtlinie 2006/66/EG aufhebt.  Diese Regulierungsinitiative ist ein integraler Bestandteil des Green Deals der EU und ihrer Bemühungen um eine saubere Energiewende.  Sie zielt unter anderem darauf ab, dass der europäische Automobilsektor seine Treibhausgasemissionen (THG) einschränkt.

Mehr

Ergänzungen zur General Safety Regulation für Fahrzeuge

Die Verordnung (EU) 2019/2144 über die Typgenehmigung von Kraftfahrzeugen im Hinblick auf ihre allgemeine Sicherheit kann ergänzt werden.

Die Europäische Kommission veröffentlichte zwei Entwürfe delegierter Verordnungen der Kommission zur Ergänzung der Verordnung (EU) 2019/2144 in Bezug auf die Warnsysteme für Schläfrigkeit und Aufmerksamkeit des Fahrers sowie die Erleichterung der Installation von Alkoholsperren in Kraftfahrzeugen. Mit dem Verordnungsentwurf wird Anhang II der Verordnung (EU) 2018/858 über die Genehmigung und die Marktüberwachung von Kraftfahrzeugen geändert.

Mehr

Übernimmt Minnesota kalifornische Emissionsstandards?

Die Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (MPCA) schlug ein Gesetz zur Übernahme der Standards für emissionsarme und emissionsfreie Fahrzeuge aus Kalifornien vor.

Das vorgeschlagene Gesetz, bekannt als Clean Cars Minnesota, würde zwei kalifornische Emissionsnormen für Treibhausgase und andere Luftschadstoffe von leichten und mittleren Nutzfahrzeugen in Minnesota einführen. Ziel ist es, Treibhausgasemissionen (THG) und andere Luftschadstoffemissionen zu reduzieren.

Mehr

Anwendbarkeit der NHTSA FMVSS Test Procedures

Die amerikanische Behörde NHTSA klärte kürzlich eine Kontroverse bezüglich der Anwendbarkeit der NHTSA FMVSS Test Procedures für Hersteller.

Die NHTSA hat eine Bekanntmachung veröffentlicht, in der sie erklärt, dass die FMVSS-Prüfverfahren nur für die Konformitätsprüfung der NHTSA gelten und die Hersteller nicht verpflichtet sind, sicherzustellen, dass ihre Fahrzeuge so konstruiert sind, dass die Fahrzeuge als Bestandteil der Selbstzertifizierung nach diesen Standards geprüft werden können.

Mehr

NHTSA Best Practices für Cybersicherheit

Die National Highway Traffic Safety Administration NHTSA bittet um Kommentare zum Entwurf der Cybersecurity Best Practices für die Sicherheit moderner Fahrzeuge.

Am 8. Januar 2021 hat die National Highway Traffic Safety Administration NHTSA einen Entwurf zu Cybersecurity Best Practices für die Sicherheit moderner Fahrzeuge im Federal Register zur Veröffentlichung eingereicht, um das aktuelle Branchen-Know-how und die neuesten Erkenntnisse zu konsolidieren.

Mehr

Neue Anforderungen an die Fahrzeugkennzeichnung?

Ecuador hat kürzlich einen Anweisungsentwurf zur Umsetzung der Kennzeichnung von Fahrzeugen veröffentlicht.

Der Zweck der Anweisung besteht darin, die Anforderungen und Verfahren für die Anwendung der Fahrzeugkennzeichnung festzulegen, die den Verbrauchern Informationen in Bezug auf Sicherheit, Emissionen und Energieeffizienz liefert und ihnen einen bewussten Kauf ermöglicht.

Mehr

Wir verwenden den Remarketing-Pixel von Facebook um unseren Besuchern zielgerichtete Informationen in unserem Onlineangebot zu bieten. Sie können der Verwendung für Facebook Remarketing zustimmen bzw. diese ablehnen. Wenn Sie nicht zustimmen, werden keine Daten über den Facebook Pixel erfasst. Mehr erfahren Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung